Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Just a few days ago, I came across a lovely blog post. This blog post was by Susie Meserve, and it was called Must-Read Memoirs. It even made the WordPress Freshly Pressed list. The commentators, including me, added their own favorites to the list, which has now been listed under a separate blog post, Readers’ Pick Memoirs, which features 92 books. Combined with the original list, that’s a list of a 100 books. Now, my first instinct was to go out and buy all hundred books. But that’s not reasonable, is it? That’s got to be out of my budget, right? Hey, that’s got to be out of anyone’s budget! So what I’m going to do is that I’m going to wittle down that list to just five books (tough task, I know..phew!). And the next time I go shopping, those five books will definitely be on my shopping list. Well, here goes:

  5. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank. I had started reading this book ages ago when I was a preteen. I had read about fifty pages and put it back down god knows what reason. One of these days, I would love to pick it up again and read it all the to the end.

 4. Some Girls: My Life in a Harem by Jillian Lauren. I hadn’t heard of this book until it was listed on Susie’s blog. But it sounded interesting so I looked it up on Goodreads. And I fell for it. So I’ve got to read it.

3. Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. Yes, I know, I still haven’t read it, despite it being a bestseller and all! Well, now I’ve heard so much praise for this book, I just hope it live’s up to my expectations. I guess there’s only one way to find out.

  2. My Life By Marlene Dietrich. It’s Marlene Dietrich! Need I say anymore? I didn’t think so!

  1. Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt. Ok, this one has been on my to-read list for years! I can’t believe I still haven’t gotten around to it! I have read ‘Tis by the same author and ever since, I have been lusting after this book. I’ll get around to it soon…I hope…

